Starting with The End in Mind

On loving deeply, serving joyfully, and exploring valiantly.

Howdy from Tucson, AZ,

Welcome to the 6 new subscribers from this past week.

The Phillies fought hard - maybe next year.

Alas, I flew back out west and have begun the van trek towards the east coast.

Today, we're jumping into a reflection on how I'd like to live my life.

We're not here for long.

I’m 25. I’m healthy, I don't plan on going anywhere soon, and I don’t mean to be morbid.

But shoot, we’re not all going to be on this planet forever.

When I die, I will leave no doubt that I lived - zero. 

That statement is something I've thought about a great deal, but I haven't taken the time to define what it means.

Time is too precious for me to not get specific about what a life well-lived looks like, so here's my first attempt at clarifying my thoughts on the matter.

Quote from Swiss-American psychiatrist, Elisabeth Kubler-Ross.

Here's what I mean by a life well-lived.

When I die, I will have loved deeply, served joyfully, and explored valiantly.

Let's break each one down:

Loving deeply - whether it's smiling at someone walking down the street, being there for a friend in need, raising a family, or anything in between, I want to ensure that the people in my community know that I care for them and support them.

Serving joyfully - the people I most admire are those that show up, do what needs to be done with no expectation of something in return, and have a smile on their face the whole time. I want to be one of those people.

Exploring valiantly - whether it's outward exploration of new places/cultures or inward exploration of my own principles, values, and habits, I want to continue to keep an open mind, push new boundaries, and further develop my understanding of the world.

Why are these 3 things important to me?

I’m not sure if any of us really get remembered. I'm talkin' long term. 100 years. 500 years. 1,000 years.

Some may use that as some sort of justification for acting selfishly or maliciously, but consider how beautiful the inverse of this could be.

In spite of how temporal everything and everyone is, we can choose to live out a system of values that stands tall in the face of uncertainty.

Is there anything more courageous than the person that is loving no matter the conditions?

Is there anything more essential than the person that serves in dire circumstances with no need for recognition or credit?

Is there anything more exhilarating than the pursuit of knowledge/wisdom from the world around us and the world within us?

And is there anything more beautiful than the human who errs but, despite this, routinely and consistently tries to choose love, service, and exploration over malice, self-centeredness, and closed mindedness?

That's what I mean by a life well-lived.

Top 5 regrets of people on their death bed. (Link to the full article from a writer who also works in palliative care.)

Here are 2 problems I want to work on in my life.

If loving, serving, and exploring is what I'm about, then how will I apply these things tactically in my life?

Most of my thinking revolves around how we can improve communities in the US. I have identified 2 problems that I'm obsessed with. They make up the goal component that matches my value system.

Problem #1: Lack of Essential Skills in US Schools - we launch people into the real world without any concept of the skills that are essential to their success.

Potential Solution: develop a curriculum that is part of obtaining a high school diploma. Have it center on the 8 components of health - physical, social, emotional, spiritual, environmental, financial, occupational, and intellectual.

Value Add: students graduate better prepared to live healthier, happier lives.

Problem #2: Lack of Alternative Routes Post-High School - it's crazy that we send 18 year olds to college, ask them to know exactly what they want to do, and saddle them with immense debt in 4-year institutions.

Potential Solution: develop an Americorps type experience at age 18. People go live on their own, serve a cause, and develop a better understanding of themselves and the world. Incentivize this for 18 year olds by offering public education scholarships (trade school, 4-year institutions) or job opportunities to those that complete the program.

Value Add: underserved communities receive young leaders to help them invest in local solutions, and 18 year olds gain better understanding of who they are and what they want to do (workforce, trade school, associate's degree, bachelor's degree, etc.)

I'm not sure if I'll work on these 2 specific problems in my life, but even the act of thinking through them allows me to identify common themes that line up with my values - education, civic engagement, and governance.

I have tried (and failed) at solving #1, but the attempts have been sporadic. Something tells me I'm not done trying to solve this problem. Click on the image above to read about it.

Here's a picture of the outcomes I'm seeking.

Alright, the heavy stuff above is important as it sets the foundation, but here are the lighter outcomes that might come from building off of my set of values.

I don't care too much for flashy items.

With that said, there are a few material things that I want because they line up with my values.

I want a freakin' barndominium with 4 tiny homes around it on a lot of land.

The barndominium will have a wood shop, a weight room, and garage space for a van/daily driver.

The tiny homes will be listed on Airbnb so that they generate some cash flow. Then, on holidays, I won't rent them out so that family/friends can come kick it (and we won't all kill each other because we'll each have our tiny domiciles to retreat to ◡̈ )

The land will have a garden, perhaps a horse or two, hiking trails, fire pits, and a makeshift drive-in movie theater. This way, I can raise my kids to harvest some of the food we eat, care for animals, appreciate the outdoors, and have their friends over for bonfires/movies.

The point of these material items: love family, friends, and newcomers deeply, serve people through good food/hospitality, and facilitate great conversation/unforgettable adventures.

One concluding thought - the order in which I presented all of this information was intentional. 

From more meaningful to less meaningful:

Values system -> Goals -> Outcomes

=

Love, Service, Exploration -> Solve Skill/Opportunity Gaps -> Barndominium w/ Tiny Homes

I know the goals and outcomes will evolve, but I think the values system will remain the same. Here's to figuring out what the heck that looks like past 25 and carrying out a life worth living.

Here's what a barndominium looks like. Love this video walkthrough.

What I'm paying attention to:

Photos of The Week

Locations this past week: Philadelphia, PA -flight> Phoenix, AZ -> Tucson, AZ

Flight back to Phoenix. Many thanks to my friend and fellow newsletter subscriber, Dayton, for letting me park the van at his place in AZ while I was in PA.

It was a great season.

Thanks for reading

What does a life well-lived mean to you?

Hit the reply button and let me know!

Josh

Want more Build content? Check out the links below

Listen to the Building Out Loud Podcast on Spotify or Apple Podcasts

Join the conversation

or to participate.